Monday, October 23, 2017


News List

Cianbro News
293 634 10/18/2017

Cianbro Team Earns Honors at ABC National Craft Championships

Feb 11 2010

Cianbro’s delegation to the 2010 Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) Craft Championships returned from San Diego, California in the wee hours of the morning Monday with medals and national recognition for their achievements. Contestants Brett Adams (Electrical), Garrett Bragdon (Pipefitting), James Dungan (Millwright), Aaron Poole (Structural welding) and Seth Webber (Pipe welding) represented Cianbro, competing with other participants in chapter and company sponsored craft training programs from throughout the nation. Each contestant was required to be in a training program or within six months of completion to compete. Testing included a written test and some practical testing, followed by six hours of practical performance testing on the following day. On Saturday, February 6th, the entire group was applauded before hundreds of industry leaders and company executives at the ABC National Convention Awards Breakfast. These young men and women were lauded as the future of the merit shop construction industry, and the best of the best. James Dungan earned a bronze medal for millwrighting, Aaron Poole won a silver medal for structural welding, and Seth Webber earned top prize, a gold medal for pipe welding. Also recognized was training coordinator and veteran Cianbro team member Ed LePage who received the prestigious award of Craft Instructor of the year. Ed was nominated by his peers and students here at Cianbro, and was selected for the national award by ABC from a well qualified pool of candidates. The selection was made by judges who are leaders in craft training and workforce development from all over the nation. As a note of interest:  Manley Bragdon, long-time Cianbro superintendent who joined the group as a guest of his grandson, was Ed’s first mentor/teacher in the subject of pipefitting many years ago. Thanks to all of the contestants, their guests who supported them and Mark (Snake) Hayden, Troy Twitchell,  Tony Ayotte, Scott Mitchell and all of the other Cianbro teachers and mentors who have shared their knowledge and passion to develop Cianbro’s talent for the future.

Copyright 2013 by The Cianbro Companies Contact Us | Plan Room Vendors & Suppliers  | Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use
2013 by Cianbro Corporation